

Distr.: General 31 January 2006

Original: English

### Note by the President of the Security Council

1. Pursuant to paragraph 2 of the note by the President of the Security Council dated 5 January 2006 (S/2006/7), the members of the Security Council have reached agreement on the chairmanship of the Informal Working Group on General Issues of Sanctions and the Informal Working Group on Documentation and Other Procedural Questions. Accordingly, the updated list of subsidiary bodies of the Security Council is as follows:

## Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 751 (1992) concerning Somalia

Chairman: Nassir Abdulaziz Al-Nasser (Qatar)

Vice-Chairmen: Ghana and Slovakia

### Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 918 (1994) concerning Rwanda

Chairman: César Mayoral (Argentina)

Vice-Chairmen: Greece and Qatar

# Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1132 (1997) concerning Sierra Leone

Chairman:

Augustine P. Mahiga (United Republic of Tanzania)

Vice-Chairmen: Argentina and Congo

# Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1267 (1999) concerning Al-Qaida and the Taliban and associated individuals and entities

### Chairman:

César Mayoral (Argentina)

*Vice-Chairmen*: Ghana and Greece

06-23171 (E) 030206

\*0623171\*

## Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1373 (2001) concerning counter-terrorism

#### Chairman:

Ellen Margrethe Løj (Denmark)

Vice-Chairmen: Greece, Peru and Qatar

#### Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1518 (2003)

Chairman:

Nana Effah-Apenteng (Ghana)

Vice-Chairmen: Congo and Denmark

### Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1521 (2003) concerning Liberia

Chairman: Ellen Margrethe Løj (Denmark)

Vice-Chairmen: Japan and Qatar

### Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1533 (2004) concerning the Democratic Republic of the Congo

*Chairman*: Oswaldo de Rivero (Peru)

Vice-Chairman: Japan

### Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1540 (2004)

#### Chairman:

Peter Burian (Slovakia)

Vice-Chairmen:

Ghana, Japan and United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

### Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1572 (2004) concerning Côte d'Ivoire

#### Chairman:

Adamantios Th. Vassilakis (Greece)

Vice-Chairmen: Denmark and United Republic of Tanzania

# Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1591 (2005) concerning the Sudan

#### Chairman:

Adamantios Th. Vassilakis (Greece)

Vice-Chairmen: Argentina and Slovakia

### Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1636 (2005)

Chairman:

Kenzo Oshima (Japan)

Vice-Chairmen: Denmark and Slovakia

### **Working Group on Peacekeeping Operations**

Chairman: Kenzo Oshima (Japan)

#### Ad Hoc Working Group on Conflict Prevention and Resolution in Africa

Chairman: Basile Ikouebe (Congo)

#### Working Group established pursuant to resolution 1566 (2004)

Chairman: Oswaldo de Rivero (Peru)

#### Working Group on Children and Armed Conflict

Chairman: Jean-Marc de La Sablière (France)

### **Informal Working Group on General Issues of Sanctions**

Chairman:

Adamantios Th. Vassilakis (Greece)

### Informal Working Group on Documentation and Other Procedural Questions

### Chairman:

Kenzo Oshima (Japan)

2. The chairmanship of the subsidiary bodies of the Security Council listed above, with the exception of the Informal Working Group on Documentation and Other Procedural Questions, shall be for the period ending 31 December 2006.

3. It was agreed that the chairmanship of the Informal Working Group on Documentation and Other Procedural Questions shall be from 1 February to 30 June 2006. At the end of this period, a review will be conducted to determine whether the tenure of office of the Chair should (a) revert to the existing practice (on a monthly basis under the rotating Presidency of the Council), (b) be for a period of 6 months, or (c) as in the case of other working groups, be for a period of 12 months.